Two deaths and a festive week.

For the past couple of years, I have not been able to savour the real celebration of eidul Fitr in Sarawak from its first day. Due to some reasons or the other, we had to go back on the first day itself and by the time we reached my mother in law’s place in Kuching it was already night time. This year our leave started early. I went back three days before eid. The office even managed to squeeze in a meeting with the Sarawak state secretary two days before hari raya. I had to borrow a coat and a tie from my brother in law to attend the  meeting as I did not bring any formal office attire. But I brought four pairs of baju Mealyu – well prepared for the Edul fitri celebrations.

I managed to capture a few scenes with the extended family in Kuching.

The two heroes checking their outfit in the mirror
The two heroes checking their outfit in the mirror

 

The pink brigade for  Syawal 1434
The pink brigade for Syawal 1434

 

and gold as well
and gold as well

 

Wait for your food
Hari Raya  in McD?
Pay your respect to the elder
Pay your respect to the elder

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unfortunately this year’s merriment were flanked by two deaths on both sides of the holidays. While I was on the flight to Kuching last Sunday, My uncle on my father’s side passed away in Ipoh. A jovial man loved by all. You can’t tell that he was sick as he was always full of live and a very witty man. I’ll definitely missed him during “kenduri” in the village, as he was always the story teller and a hell of a cook as well. And today, as I was landing in KLIA’s LCCT, I heard the news that my uncle on my in law’s side passed away in Kuching. I visited his house on the second day of eid.  Unfortunately he was out visiting. So the last time I met him was about the same time last year. May Allah put them both with the group of solihin.

Leave a Reply

