I was really happy when it was announced that the DUKE highway was finally opened albeit only partly. But the happiness quickly turned to dismay, frustration and seething rage. I thought with the new highway, I can start from home at a later time than 645am. I do not have to rush for Fajr prayers anymore. Unfortunately, due to the volume of traffic coming out of the highway into the MMR2 at the Hillview interchange, it caused massive jam along the MRR2 leading to the runoff from DUKE at the interchange. To compound matters, the same area is also the run off for traffic from  Keramat AU area. I failed to see, why the designer of the highway did not foresee this problem.


v\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
o\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
w\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
.shape {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
<!– /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:””; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} –>
/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ansi-language:#0400;
mso-fareast-language:#0400;
mso-bidi-language:#0400;}

Even with the Keramat traffic alone, the jam sometimes would stretch all the way to the zoo area.  Now I am only hoping that with the opening of the Sentul to Duta stretch in April, most of the traffic from MRR2 heading towards central KL would turn in into the highway before the run off area, thus reducing the strain on the Hillview run off. As it is, I have to start from home not later than 6.40 or I might risk having red ink splattered on my punch card. The problem at Semarak is even worse. Thinking that I could escape the MRR2 jam, I tried the Semarak way last week. It was so horrible, I reached the office only at 8.45am, a good two hours after I left home. In my 20 years living in Kl, I have never experienced having to travel 2 hours to reach the office. Not even in my  mini buses and Intrakota days!

The DUKE highway is becoming The DUKE of hazards to many eastern KLites

One thought on “

  1. I agree 100% – this is a disaster at the moment. My daughter’s car pool mother will not come into Taman Sri Ukay to pick up my daughter any more, so we have to add to the traffic & drive my daughter down to a meeting place off the MRR2 further down.

    To make matters worse, the DUKE highway has no entrance and no exit to the location where it has caused such a mess. We Taman Sri Ukay and Taman Hillview residents have to do a 5km round trip to get on or off the highway even though the highway is right outside our door.

    Not to mention the new danger area – those coming off the DUKE to the MRR2 heading south are all looking right to merge onto the MRR2, paying no attention to the thousands of cars on their left coming out of TSU & TH including from 2 schools, one of which shouldn’t even be there in a residential zone. I’ve seen 1 crash there already where the 7 lanes merge into 3 at the same point.

    I too am hoping that the opening of the last 3rd of the highway will mean that a lot of those coming south on the MRR2 from the zoo area will take the DUKE instead of continuing down the MRR2 to the AKLEH. Hoping, but not confident…

    Dave

Leave a Reply

